Reserve Grade Records - 1910 to 2023

A Word/West/Word Website Records/Other/ Reserve Grade Records

Year	Coach	Comments
1910		West withdrew from the competition after Rd 4
1911		Lost Final 15 – 3 by North
1912		Lost Final 12 – 7 by North
1913		Won Final 14 – 3 over Central
1914		Won Final 23 – 7 over North
1915		Won Final 13 – 3 over North
1916		No competition
1917		No competition
1918		No competition
1919		No competition
1920		
1921		
1922		Won only 1 game
1923		
1924		
1925		Lost 17 – 11 to Carrington in the Final
1926		
1927		
1928		
1929		6 _{th}
1930		Lost 6 -5 to South in Reserve Grade Final
1931		Lost 24 – 4 in Reserve Grade Final
1932		Won 8, Lost 8, Draw 1
1933		Won 7, Lost 11
1934		Won 9, Lost 7, Draw 1, Abandoned 1
1935		Won 6, Lost 11, Draw 1
1936		
1937		4 th . Lost 10 – 7 to North in the Final
1938		3 rd Lost 3 -2 in Semi Final to East
1939		8 _{th}
1940	Salty Watts	Won Grand Final 10 – 3 over North
1941		Lost Grand Final 8 – 7 to South

1942	Won 7 games. Lost 5 games
1943	4 th , Lost 3 – 0 to South in Semi Final
1944	Lost 18 – 17 to North in Final
1945	Won 4 games. Lost 10 games.
1946	Defeated South $13 - 7$ in 4^{th} position p /o. Then lost to Belmont $15 - 3$ in 2^{nd} 4^{th} position p/o
1947	Defeated 17 – 12 by Maitland in 4 th position p/o
1948	Defeated 13 – 9 by Central in Semi Final
1949	6 _{th}

Year	Coach	Comments
1950	Mick Brogden	8 _{th}
1951	Wal Harding	7 _{th}
1952	Wal Harding	Last
1953	Wal Harding	Grand Final Winners. GF West 9 def Cessnock 8
1954	Wal Harding	Missed Semis
1955	G Freeman	
1956	Ron Vipen	2 _{nd}
1957	Bob Fishlock	5 _{th}
1958	John Lightfoot	7 _{th}
1959	Sid Brown	Equal 4 th
1960	Ron Walls	Min / Major Premiers. GF West 13 def Mait5
1961	Ron Walls	Min / Major Premiers. GF West 15 def Mait12
1962	Cec Cavanagh	Min / Major Premiers. GF West 14 def Mait3
1963	Glen Walker	4 th . Lost Semi 18 – 10 to Waratah
1964	Ivan Leggett	6 _{th}
1965	Ron Walls	Grand Final Winners. West 22 def Maitland 9
1966	Ron Walls	Undefeated Min / Major Premiers. West 19 def Maitland 9
1967	Kevin Hodgson	Min / Major Premiers. GF West 21 def Lakes 9
1968	Kevin Hodgson	Undefeated Min / Major Premiers. West 15 def North 9
1969	Bill Lockett	Grand Final Winners. West 14 def South 8
1970	Neil Gibson	Minor Premiers. Lost GF 16 – 15 to Maitland
1971	Brian Stanbridge	2 nd . Major Premiers. GF West 16 def Maitland 12
1972	Brian Stanbridge	Min / Major Premiers. GF West 12 def Mait5

1973	Brian Stanbridge	3 rd , Semi Finalists. Lost Semi 21 – 12 to South
1974	Neil Gibson	Minor Premiers, Grand Finalists
1975	Greg Norgard	2 nd . Major Premiers. In GF West 12 def Lakes 10
1976	Brian Stanbridge	2 nd , Grand Finalists. Lakes 20 def West 12
1977	Wayne Hore	3 rd , Grand Finalists. Cessnock 17 def West 15
1978	Wayne Hore	5 _{th}
1979	Doug Farr	Min / Major Premiers. GF West 29 def Mait 6
1980	John Anderson	Joint Minor Premiers, Grand Finalists
1981	John Anderson	4 th . Lost Semi 24 – 5 to Waratah
1982	John Anderson	Major Premiers. In GF West 21 def Maitland 10
1983	John Anderson	4 _{th}
1984	John Anderson	2 nd , Major Premiers. GF West 32 def Waratah 14
1985	Steve Smith	Grand Finalists. Lost to Lakes 10 - 2
1986	Steve Smith	Major Premiers. GF West 8 def South 6
1987	Jon Hulbert	Grand Finalists. GF Maitland 19 def West 18
1988	Glen Armstrong	Min / Major Premiers. GF West 29 def Lakes 0
1989	Glen Armstrong	Min / Major Premiers. GF West 26 def South 120
1990	Geoff Coburn	2 nd , Finalists. Lost to Lakes 18 - 8
1991	Geoff Coburn	Minor Premiers, Grand Finalists
1992	Geoff Coburn	Min / Major Premiers.GF West 16 def Lakes 6
Year	Coach	Comments
1993	Wayne Dawson	Minor Premiers, Finalists
1994	Geoff Coburn	Finalists. Lost to Maitland 16 - 0
1995	Wayne Dawson	Semi Finalists
1996	Craig Miller	Min / Major Premiers.GF West 20 def Kurri 6
1997	Craig Miller	Min / Major Premiers. GF West 16 def South 6
1998	Geoff Gidley	Grand Finalists. Lost to South 17 - 12
1999	Geoff Gidley	Minor Semi Finalists
2000	Dennis Duncan	Major Premiers. GF West 36 def Lakes 6
2001	Garth Brennan	Min / Major Premiers. GF West 36 def Cess 10
2002	Garth Brennan	Major Premiers. West 34 def Cessnock 16
2003	Frank Lawler	Minor Premiers, Finalists
2004	lan Thompson	Equal 5 th , Elimination Semi Finalists
2005	Brett Cullen	Min / Major Premiers. GF West 38 def Wyong 24

2006	Brett Cullen	Minor Premiers, Finalists
2007	Dave Stewart	Min / Major Premiers. GF West 22 def Cess 10
2008	Brad Melville	Minor Premiers
2009	Brad Melville	Semi Finalists
2010	Matt Marks	Semi Finalists. Lost Semi to Macquarie 10 - 8
2012	Wayne March	Min / Major Premiers GF West 46 def Mait 0
2013	Mark Morrissey	Min Premiers. GF Macquarie 32 def West 16
2014	Colin Clarke	Min Premiers, GF West 28 def Central 22
2015	Gary Thorogood	Minor Premiers – Lost 19 – 18 to Lakes in GF
2016	Gary Thorogood	Grand Finalists – Lost 22 – 20 to Lakes in GF
2017	Laurie Clifton	4 th , Major PremiersGF West 31 def South 12
2018	Laurie Clifton	5 th Lost 44-10 to South in Elimination Semi
2019	Brad Hafey	Minor @ Major Premiers West 18 def South 16
2020	Laurie Clifton	Minor @ Major Premiers West 13 def Wyong 12
2021	Nathan Hinton	No competition winners in 2021 as comp was forced to stop because of covid lockdowns.
2022	Nathan Hinton	Grand Finalists – West Nil – Northern Hawkes 20
2023	Lucas Miller	Major Premiers – West 14 Maitland 6